Tuesday, 19 May 2015

Defect Priority

What is Defect Priority and types of defect priority?

Defect Priority is defined as the order or sequence in which defect should get resolved and the Priority status is set by tester while raising the defect with time frame details. It is the questionnaire to ‘Should developer fix it now, or can wait?’ If high priority is mentioned then the developer has to fix it as early as possible.
In general there are four different Defect Priority types or levels:
  1. Urgent: All the testing functionality is impacted and stopped. Such serious affecting defects needs to be fixed immediately.
  2. High: Majority of the testing functionality is affected and testing for this module is stopped. Such defects must be fixed before testing has completed.
  3. Medium: Some of the functionality is affected and should get fixed before the application or system goes in to production environment
  4. Low: These are cosmetics defects which should get fixed if time available.
Depending upon the Defect Prioritydevelopers decide when to fix the defect. For each defect raised by testing team, developer has to provide the SLA to fix the defect. 

No comments:

Post a Comment